I’ve been learning Java. It was between C# and Java. Java won. I’ve been at it for a couple months now, but I’m still figuring things out. At first, I was writing programs in notepad, compiling them online, then running them through the DOS command prompt (I had a good reason for doing this).

I’ve recently started using Eclipse, which I really enjoy. My NXP LPC1114 project is also using the Eclipse environment with GNU for C. Despite the usual frustrations associated with larger open-source software (I know this comment draws some hate), it’s easy to use and powerful.

I also found these tutorials, which are EXTREMELY helpful in both learning Java and Eclipse. Java is so complex, I feel the basics need to be drilled over and over again. These courses, especially the Total Beginner and Persistence tutorials, really put everything together. The tutorials are also a great introduction to test-driven development and JUnit testing.

